Frost on the Pumpkins?

Coming from a family of farmers, that ‘s a familiar phrase – one that creates an  image with particular meaning – like needing to “make hay while the sun shines” and the corn being “knee-high by the 4th of July”.

It’s that time of year – when  we start getting ourselves ready for those icy-orange mornings – whether it’s pumpkins in a field, or hillsides that were once several shades of green, brightening, then shedding their leafy colors.

It’s time to savor the days that still feel warm and remember to bundle up if we plan to be out during those chilly evening and early morning hours.

A prediction of frost on the pumpkins here in the higher elevations means it’ll be a wee bit cool near the lake as well.   So booth set-up at the Burlington Farmers’ Market tomorrow morning will have me wearing one of my hats (and a winter jacket).

Photo of hat, handspun and handknit by Joanne Littler, Pine Ledge Fiber Studio, Fairfax, VT

Multi-Color Merino Wool Hat Handspun and Handknit by Joanne Littler

And I’ll probably still be wearing my hat even after the sun begins to work it’s magic – nudging the temperature towards 60 degrees F.

Because this is fabric with a function.

In one sense, I’m wearing an advertisement.  A nice quiet way for me to say  “winter is coming – and you need a hat!”  I like nice, and I like quiet.

But the real reason is, I like the way it makes me feel.

This is a hat that does exactly what I want it to do.

It feels good.  Soft,  warm, and snuggle-y.  A good insulator – which is, after all, the whole point.

To keep me from leaking heat.

I gotta go pack the car.
See you at market.

Joanne's blog signature, Pine Ledge Fiber Studio

Leave a Reply

