Enjoy the Festival of Fools!

Without me.

I’ve decided not to attend market tomorrow.

I’ll spend my time working on a few new things, instead.
Like these new-to-me fibers from Ashland Bay:

Photo of Yak fiber and yarn sample handspun by Joanne Littler

Yak fiber and yarn sample, handspun by Joanne Littler

Photo of Suri Alpaca fiber and yarn sample handspun by Joanne Littler

Suri Alpaca fiber and yarn sample handspun by Joanne Littler

The small amounts of fiber I sampled (about 1/2 an ounce each) gave me enough information to:

  • determine the amount of fiber I need to spin
  • at the appropriate diameter and twist
  • for the type of yarn I want to make
  • and the number of yards it will take
  • for my favorite woven samples
  • otherwise known as – scarves.

So I’ve written up my project plans; measured out 3 ounces of the Yak and 4.5 ounces of the Suri Alpaca; and added them to the line-up in my next-on-the-list spinning basket.

I also have some Cashmere ready for a shawl.  So moving that yarn from skeins to center-pull balls; measuring warp; and dressing a loom is another instead-of-market possibility.

Doesn’t sound as exciting as the Festival of Fools?
Maybe not.
But it’s definitely more my speed.

Joanne's blog signature, Pine Ledge Fiber Studio

Leave a Reply

